Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico is the smallest island of the Greater Antilles in the Caribbean, located east of the Dominican Republic and is rich in festivals, traditions, art, and music.  Puerto Rico is considered an archipelago consisting of the main island, four small islands, and hundreds of cays and islets.  The island territory is only 100 miles long and 35 miles wide.  There are around 3.2 million people in Puerto Rico, and close to 5 million Puerto Ricans living in the U.S.  Since Puerto Rico is a territory of the United States, American citizens do not require a passport to enter the Island.  However, you must always travel with a valid ID.


The climate in Puerto Rico is warm and tropical (i.e., expect an afternoon shower during the summer months).  The temperature varies between 70- and 80-degrees Fahrenheit throughout the year.  It can go down to about 60 degrees in the central mountainous area during December and January.

Puerto Rico Fun Facts. . .